2018 Rum Race #6 & #7

Started by rademakerg, July 16, 2018, 05:55:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rademakerg

I am not good at forums and this might be perceived as not the right place to discuss my concerns about the Friday night Rum Races #6 & #7, but here goes.

I feel that the ~6:30-7:30 pm starts will have all the boats finishing in the dark and many, including me possibly finishing ~9:30 pm.  For the small boats, J-22, J24, and even the catamarans, we have no lights, no GPS to find the marks.  I have sailed in the dark with my big boat, 37', but sailing in a race condition on a Friday night with a lot of other traffic including motor boats, I feel this is very challenging if not a very safe situation.

Can we either return to the Saturday format or at least move the start time up at least 1 hour?  I know the thought is a "Friday" race and after people are off work, but this safety issue is real for me.

Thoughts others????

Tye Dyed Gary

Scott is just trying to change things up some. An example is his moving us from "E" mark to "F" mark or as he calls it 'T'. It has been pointed out, about the smaller boats not having running lights. ( I even accused him of doing the night races so the small boats couldn't win the overall results, as the small boats have been in the top 5 for the past two years.) I have the battery powered emergency lights, I use on Wed. nights when we have late finishes.
  The races started out full on Friday evenings,(TGIF) but turnout dwindled to just a few boats, so the Saturday format was added. More and more boats started showing up for the Saturday races, and fewer for Friday evenings. Houston, Friday evening traffic was the biggest excuse.  I was on the BOD when the decision was made to go full on Saturday, keeping the same start times. Then the decision was made to move the start times up so less chance of finishing to late in the evening. AND, that is where we are now.