Foul weather gear

Started by ace949, November 08, 2015, 08:20:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ace949

I am new to sailing and need to purchase fall weather gear. I wanted to see if anyone has any suggestions as to a good local merchant (Clear Lake area), and any other helpful things to be mindful of when purchasing foul weather gear.

Thank you.

Maarten

After yesterday this seems an important question. There is no one right answer but this is what I have landed on for myself:

For serious weather and longer time e.g. Saturday and off shore I like Musto BR2. In my long time sailing in temperate climates (North Sea, Maine) and warmer (Galveston Bay, GoM) I am now on my second set. The old one I keep on the boat for guests and for the occasional time I get absolutely soaked and only a wetsuit would have kept me dry. Secret is to take the gear home, use clean water to get the salt off and dry well to avoid mildew. For trousers I do have a bib but prefer the normal trousers as these are easier to go to the head. Get a good pair of boots that you can wear with socks and are not too tight. I prefer the lower boots. To make this all work well you need to get the right layers underneath as well. Lots of choice there for different temperatures. Cotton and wool will make you wet inside the jacket so go for some of the modern materials.